ACHS Conference

About the Association of Critical Heritage Studies Conference

The ACHS runs a biannual conference, the first of which was held at the University of Gothenburg, Sweden in 2012.

The second conference will be held between 2-4 December 2014, hosted by the Centre for Heritage and Museums Studies, Australian National University, Canberra.

Association of Critical Heritage Studies

Second biannual Conference, Canberra, 2-4th December 2014

The Centre of Heritage and Museum Studies, The Australian National University, will be hosting the second Association of Critical Heritage Studies bi-annual conference. Over 300 papers, performances and roundtable discussions will be presented by scholars from around the world, exploring cutting edge research and innovative thinking in heritage and museum studies, and public history and memory studies. There is a strong focus on Asia in the papers being presented, and a significant contribution of papers on Intangible Cultural Heritage, as well as issues of multiculturalism, migration and diaspora. Conference themes include:

1. Critical approaches to heritage in Asia             9. Digital heritage and social media
2. Intangible Cultural Heritage (ICH)                 10. Class and heritage
3. Multiculturalism, migration and diaspora       11. Theorising cultural heritage studies
4. Conflict and destruction                                  12. Communities, museums and heritage
5. Memory, heritage and museums                     13. Critical heritage and critical tourism studies
6. Human rights and ethics                                  14. Authenticity, aesthetics and value
7. Affect and emotion                                          15. Pedagogy of Critical Heritage Studies
8. Urbanism, materiality and heritage


Australian National University, Canberra, ACT, Australia (for information about Canberra see Please note that we advise booking airfares to Canberra from the Northern Hemisphere as soon as possible.

Conference is located at the Copland building. Kinglsey Street Acton (ANU campus)


see /node/1930

Organising committee

Laurajane Smith; Gary Campbell;  Tracy Ireland; Yujie Zhu; Kynan Gentry; John Giblin; Amy Clark (Australian Chapter); Michelle Stefano (US Chapter); Trudie Walters (New Zealand).

Conference timetable

The timetable/programme, summary programme and a book of abstracts may be downloaded here:

A hardcopy of these documents will be provided at Registration.


Updated:  6 December 2017/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications